Esteemed Florey researcher wins stroke award

Internationally recognised researcher Professor Dominique Cadilhac has been honoured with the President’s Achievement Award at this year’s Stroke Foundation Stroke Awards.

Professor Dominique Cadilhac

The President’s Achievement Award recognises exceptional individuals who have made a significant contribution to the Stroke Foundation and demonstrated exemplary dedication to improving stroke treatment and care in Australia.

Professor Cadilhac has actively contributed to Stroke Foundation programs for 20 years. These include the National Audit, stroke prevention programs and the Stroke and Absolute Risk Cardiovascular Disease Prevention Guidelines.

On receiving the award at a special ceremony in Melbourne, Professor Cadilhac said she was honoured to have been announced as this year’s winner.

“My long association with the Stroke Foundation has been rewarding,” Professor Cadilhac said, “I am proud of my work, and I am dedicated to progressing public health efforts and outcomes for stroke survivors.”

Stroke Foundation Board President Professor James Angus AO congratulated Professor Cadilhac on being named the President’s Achievement Award winner.

“Professor Cadilhac’s work in health services research and public health policy has helped to guide Stroke Foundation priorities and important advocacy initiatives. These include the Australian Telestroke Network and the Australian Stroke Data Tool,” Professor Angus said.

“Professor Cadilhac’s dedication to better stroke management, care and practice is an asset and helps us continue our life-saving work across Australia.”

The President’s Achievement Award is judged by Professor James Angus, Chief Executive Officer Sharon McGowan and board members.