Professor Scott Ayton

Group Head

Parkville Campus
30 Royal Parade
Parkville Victoria 3052

Research group
Translational Neurodegeneration Group

Headshot_Scott Ayton


Professor Scott Ayton is the Director of the Centre of Research Excellence in Enhanced Dementia Diagnosis (CREEDD) and head of the Dementia Mission and the Translational Neurodegeneration Group at The Florey.

Scott’s research encompasses both laboratory and clinical research relating to neurodegenerative diseases, such as Alzheimer’s disease, in order to investigate disease mechanisms, discover new biomarkers and develop therapeutics. He is particularly interested in iron neurochemistry, cellular metabolism, and the regulated cell death pathway called ferroptosis.

Professor Ayton also has a strong interest in vascular physiology/pharmacology, especially in discovering new vascular control mechanisms and how these are disturbed in Alzheimer’s disease. His research has been translated into clinical trials that he has led.

Career highlights

Current roles

  • Director of the NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Enhanced Dementia Diagnosis
  • Head of The Florey’s Dementia Mission
  • Head of the Translational Neurodegeneration Group

Other highlights

Associate Professor Scott Ayton is a highly ranked subject matter expert internationally by

  • Iron biochemistry (top 0.02%)
  • Ferroptosis (top 0.07%)
  • Alzheimer’s disease (top 0.1%)
  • Parkinson’s disease (top 0.5%)

Grant funding (since 2016)

  • 2022: MRFF. 2 years, $998,224. MRF2016098: Translating novel mechanism-guided therapeutics to improve functional recovery of the brain and kidneys after open-heart surgery. Chief investigators: Yugeesh Lankadeva, Scott Ayton, Clive May, Rinaldo Bellomo, Ashley Bush, Andrew Cochrane, Peter McCall, Roger Evans, Lindsea Booth, Fazel Shabanpoor.
  • 2021: NHMRC (Centre of Research Excellence). 5 years, $3,000,000. GNT2007037: Centre of Research Excellence in Enhanced Dementia Diagnosis (CREEDD). Chief investigators: Scott Ayton, Amy Brodtmann, Ashley Bush, Darshini Ayton, Roland Bammer, Yen Ying Lim, Michael Woodward, Rebekah Ahmed, Susannah Ahern, Danny Liew
  • 2018: NHMRC (Project grant). 3 Years, $522,750. GNT1147442: Therapeutically targeting the major genetic risk factor of Alzheimer’s disease. Chief investigators: Scott Ayton, Marcus Conrad
  • 2016: NHMRC (Project grant). 3 years, $459,357. GNT1100441: Investigating the cause and consequences of iron deposition in Parkinson’s disease. Chief investigators: Scott Ayton, Peng Lei, Lin Hung


  • 2022: NHMRC, Investigator Grant Leadership Level 1 (Research support package LT3). GNT2008359: 5 years, $3,098,844
  • 2019: NHMRC, R.D. Wright Biomedical Career Development Fellowship. GNT1159403: 4 years, $437,036
  • 2016: NHMRC-ARC, Dementia Development Fellowship. GNT1100458: 4 years, $599,644
  • 2014: Alzheimer’s Australia postdoctoral fellowship. 2 years, $110,000

Awards and achievements

  • 2017 – International Conference on Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s Diseases (ADPD), Junior Faculty Award
  • 2016 – Bethlehem Griffiths Research Foundation, Young Researcher of the Year
  • 2016 – Alzheimer’s Association International Conference (AAIC), Travel Fellowship

Research publications


Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid phone number
Please enter a correct email address
Please provide information regarding your enquiry