Innovative research investigations at the Florey Institute funded by NHMRC Ideas Grants

Over $4.3 million in new funding from the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) has been awarded to researchers at the Florey Institute to embark on innovative scientific investigations.

The projects range from developing novel drugs for heart failure and Alzheimer’s disease, understanding critical information about memory and organ function, and engineering new diabetes treatment options.

We congratulate all recipients of NHMRC Ideas Grant funding, including the following researchers from The Florey:

  • Associate Professor Daniel Scott, Head of The Florey’s Receptor Structure and Drug Discovery Laboratory, will develop new drug treatment approaches to treat and heart failure and Alzheimer’s disease using adrenaline receptors.
  • Associate Professor Lucy Palmer, Head of The Florey’s Neural Networks Laboratory, will address our knowledge gaps in how memories are formed in the brain and apply this insight to treatment pathways for memory disorders.
  • Dr Stuart McDougall, Head of The Florey’s Viscerosensory Laboratory, will work to better understand the causes hypertension and other neurological conditions by uncovering new information about how the brain controls organ function.
  • Professor John Wade, Head of The Florey’s Peptide & Protein Chemistry Laboratory, will develop novel insulin compounds to improve the management of diabetes.

The NHMRC Ideas Grant scheme is funded by the Australian Government and supports research which will help advance understanding of a wide range of health and medical issues faced by Australians.

In announcing the NHMRC Ideas Grant outcomes, Minister for Health, The Hon. Greg Hunt, said the projects demonstrate the outstanding innovation of the health and medical research sector in Australia and offer great promise for future advances in our understanding and management of health challenges.

Left to right: Associate Professor Daniel Scott, Associate Professor Lucy Palmer, Dr Stuart McDougall and Professor John Wade